Celebrating Special Education Teachers at the Carolyn Dobbs Awards Reception

The Carolyn Dobbs Special Education Teacher of the Year Award recognizes the importance of the work of special education professionals. The award is named after Mary Carolyn Dobbs (1911 – 2011), a California State University, Fresno alumna, who became a teacher and internationally renowned pioneer in special education.

Her selfless work brought significant changes at the state and national levels in the classroom and in everyday life for students, and she also was an advocate for support and assistance for teachers of special needs pupils.

2018 Recipients

Yvonne Carlon
Merced County Office of Education, taught for 12 years at Peterson Elementary as a teacher of the deaf and a teacher in a severely handicap classroom.

Leslie Hoffman
Special Education teacher at Sanger Unified for 15 years.

View all photos from the event.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s